Engine Toro Timecutter SS 4235 - Starter engages but won't turn engine

CASchryver

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Toro Timecutter SS 4235 - Starter engages but won't turn engine
A few months ago, I picked up a used Timecutter. The battery was dead, but after jump-starting the mower and running it for a while, it's started strong ever since. I've been mowing with it for about three months without any problems. About a week ago I turned it off and was away for a few minutes after which when I tried to start it up again it wouldn't. The starter sounds strong, but the engine itself won't even turn. Of course, I don't try for more than a few seconds at a time so as not to fry my starter. Seemingly at random, it suddenly turned the engine and it started right up. Ran fine for the rest of the day. It has now happened two more times and as I type, it is sitting in my yard with a tarp over it to keep it out of the rain. Due to weather, I haven't been able to step through as many troubleshooting steps as I'd like, but I was able to shoot a small video so you could hear it.

Oil level is good, though it could use a change. I think my power is good - I've added in my jump box with no discernible sound difference with or without it. This model will allow me to start it with no one sitting in the seat. It won't let you start it if the motion control levers aren't in the "park" position - you can hear the "safety" engage/disengage when they are moved, so I don't think that is the issue.

Appreciate any suggestions.

mechanic mark

Lawn Pro
Threads
Solenoid on starter is going bad.

packardv8

Threads
Solenoid on starter is going bad
Mark is probably correct.

However, the Toro is typical of today's mowers with electrical connections running through many different lawyer switches to make it start. Before replacing the solenoid, find every switch and plug connector. Pull them, spray with electric contact cleaner and reinstall. Fixed many similar problems this way.