Scrubcadet10

Staff member
Threads
More oil debates! ;)
tenor.gif

Scrubcadet10

Staff member
Threads
I've been using Rotella T-4 for a few yrs now. It is JASO rated & does have 1,200 ppm of zinc in it among many other things.
I've been running it in my Mule ever since you told me about it (y)(y)

slomo

Lawn Addict
Threads
You are correct is does extend oil changes.
JD Green needs to go somewhere other than TBN to get advise on oil people their are giving out poor advise.

The average person picks his oil based on a slick commercial and if you ask them what the
TBN number is they will not know.
If you ask them what the TAN number is they will not know.
If you ask them what the ZDDP count is they don't know.
If you ask them what the CST is at 100C they will have no idea.
If you ask them if it is made from a GRP. ll or GRP. lll or GRP. lV they have no idea.
All they know is in their mind it is the best but they base that on NO scientific info. :confused2:
What exactly, is the part or parts in synthetic oil, that all you guys think, that it extends oil changes? Please list every single item. ?:LOL:

slomo

slomo

Lawn Addict
Threads
KennyV yours does also, sometimes its hard to believe all this new technology is better than the old stuff we are comfortable with. I use synthetic oil in some of my equipment, but because I dont see immediate results I have some doubts. I will give T6 a try sometime, i have noticed it is reasonably priced.
Reasonably priced means it's not a real, true 100% synthetic oil.

slomo

slomo

Lawn Addict
Threads
You have it close to right most synthetics are made from group lll base stock a few are group lV and some are PAO.

The base stock makes a difference but so does the add pack.
Most people don't really need a PAO based oil but is is the better base stock especially if you have a modified high horsepower engine.