How much weight is too much?

kermit911

Threads
Hello, I have owned my tractor (If it is classified as a tractor 917.273460) for almost 10 years and this will be the first year I am going to use it for snow removal. In reading a lot of posts, one of the big problems is not enough weight and the tires start to slip. There are wheel weights and bucket weights, and chains but what is the limit of weight before you start to damage the tractor? I weight a healthy :eek: 250 pounds with 5 gallons of fuel under my seat, so that's another 55 lbs. Plus 45 pound wheel weights times 2 and a 50 pound bucket weight in the back. Totaling 445 pounds (if I did my math right :smile:) Now where is the breaking point for the axles / hydrostatic drive / frame / etc.? Now when I say breaking point I mean damaging them, not actual snapping in two. :thumbsup:

Thanks
Dave

Any recommendation for a first time snow removal run? I have never done this before and could use any information all you vets have for me. :biggrin: I leave in two days to pick up a snow blower 842.240510 and chains. $220.00

Attachments

• snow blower.jpeg
    snow blower.jpeg
    110.4 KB · Views: 19

BKBrown

Lawn Addict
Threads
Do you have an owners manual ? It should give you a ballpark weight limit. Usually you could find the manual online.

Not being familiar with the model, if it is a "lawn tractor" it will be built to handle less weight than a "garden tractor".

Someone familiar with this model will probably help more. :biggrin:

kermit911

Threads
Do you have an owners manual ? It should give you a ballpark weight limit. Usually you could find the manual online.

Not being familiar with the model, if it is a "lawn tractor" it will be built to handle less weight than a "garden tractor".

Someone familiar with this model will probably help more. :biggrin: