Hard Starting Honda Generator

mucksiegooma

Threads
I have a 1996 Honda EM-2500X generator that has been a bugger to start since new. I only run it occasionally, really haven't had a real need to use it, but want it ready in case of an emergency. Here in northern Minnesota, starting some small engines in colder weather can be a real chore. Today I tried to start the engine and when I didn't start, I took of air filter and squirted some starting fluid. It started but it would only continue to run on full choke. When I had run it for a reasonable length of time and engine was warm, I tried to open the choke to normal operating position. As soon as I started to move the choke lever the engine started to starve for fuel. It will only run on full choke, which isn't recommended. What the heck can be the problem. A plugged jet? I'm not a mechanic and I can only guess.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Normally in this case I would be recommending removing the carb and cleaning plus rebuilding it. NOT THIS TIME. Carbs on these units a cheaper to replace than rebuild. Post all your model numbers and we will be able tell you the part number and approximate cost. Robert@Honda will probably chime in and be able to give you some other ideas, but he will need all those numbers also.

mucksiegooma

Threads
This is an EM-2500, frame serial number: EZCN-1049312, engine serial number: 3854913. I hope this helps.

Thank you for the reply, I really appreciate the help.

reynoldston

Lawn Pro
Threads