Toro Timemaster Won't Shut Off

WaltSm53

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have an electric start Timemaster, 4 years old. I keep it clean and had it services at the beginning of the mowing year (April).Yesterday after cutting the lawn, I turned the key to off but the mower won't shut down. I unplugged and reconnected the wiring harness from the switch, but same result. I also checked the fuse (looks OK). I have to pull the spark wire off, which is a little shocking. I had my local Toro dealer order a new ignition switch but I'm wondering if there are any other suggestions why the motor won't shut down when the key is turned to off. Thanks.

ken2

Threads
Not shutting of with the key. Is a sign the park brake interlock module is not working. It's the black box behind the seat under the cross brace. Toro did have the test procedure on their website if you look up your model and serial number.

WaltSm53

Forum Newbie
Threads
Let me clarify. I have an electric start Toro Timemaster walk behind self propelled mower, 30 inch width, which is 3 years old. The mower won't shut off when I turn the key to off. I replaced the ignition switch but the issue is not fixed. Right now I'm pulling off the ignition switch but I've already torn one spark plug boot. Any suggestions what might cause the mower not to shut off?

Thanks

ken2

Threads
I would remove the top cover and make sure the kill wire is still connected to the coil.

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
First thing I would be testing the key switch, not replacing it. What you are looking for is continuity between the G (ground) terminal and the M (magneto) terminal, with the key in the OFF position. Second thing I would check is continuity between the connector of coil kill and the key switch. If you have no continuity, you have a break somewhere in the wire.

insurroundsound

Forum Newbie
Threads