small, front tire question

Hustler27

Threads
Two options then...

Option #1) Fix the flat...
  • over-inflate the tire a bit and put it in a tub of water to find the leak.
    • Don't forget to mark it well with a crayon
  • Deflate tire
  • Break beads on both sides of the tire from the rim
  • Making sure the opposite bead slides into the "drop down", carefully pry the beads off of the tire on the same side
    • Cussing is optional
  • Buff, glue and patch the hole
  • Reinstall and inflate tire

Option #2) Use slime
  • Go to the store and buy Slime
  • Deflate tire
  • Pump in the required amount of slime
  • Inflate tire and go for a ride to spread slime
  • No cussing needed
    • But a Margarita would be nice!

I worked as a mechanic for thirty years with half of those years with Goodyear Tire and Rubber. The smaller the tire, the more difficult they can be. While I would never use fix-a-flat, and especially not in a passenger car or truck tire, I don't mind using slime on turf tires.

What about a third option. What does the process look like if I buy a new tire? I've never done tire work before.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
I do not us any gunk in a tyre unless the customer demands it.
Fix a flat is latex based and a foam so it will gt into cracks in the side wall, but it is not and never was intended as a permenant repair, it was and always is a "get you back home" emergency repair.
It requires heat to set it off and mower tyres never get hot enough
Slime was designed for the lunar rover where gravity is 19% of that on earth so again it can fill the tyre and make a temporary repair .
It is heavy and sits on the bottom of the tyre where it can plug PUNCTURES, some times but usually not.
Over time it will lift the paint and being water based will start rusting the rim.
If the rim is powder coated ( and most are ) they rust under the paint and eventually around the valve hole .