Sludge oil on valves

Tommyb2401

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi y’all this may sound dumb but I’m new to this working on my own stuff so cut me a break. I have a b&s generator model 030424 took off the cover that says ohv and found the oil clumpy and sludg like. What causes this thanks in advance.

Attachments

• 82899AC3-D6C7-4025-A22B-14430A7E6919.jpeg
    82899AC3-D6C7-4025-A22B-14430A7E6919.jpeg
    32.1 KB · Views: 35

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Other way round Mark,
non detergent oil
All that detergents do is to surround every single particle to prevent them turning into big blobs .

Tommy, your oil is just old and weather or to be more accurate water affected.
With things like generators they should be started & run for at least 1 hour a month to drive the water that has condensed out of the oil,
Mower oild are designed to hold water to prevent the engine rusting while stitting for months unused

MParr

Lawn Addict
Threads
Not changing the oil often enough. Use Castrol GTX SAE 30 HD or Shell Rotella T1 SAE 30 and change more often.

hlw49

Lawn Addict
Threads
Not changing the oil often enough and running non detergent oil. Use Kohler, Briggs, Kawasaki and Lucas oils that have a high zinc content. If you always buy an oil branded by the engine manufacture you will get the high zinc oil that is good for the cam valve train. It can add life to the valve train.

Richard Milhous

Threads
Condensation in the oil. It will get in your gas tank too.

Last major ice storm my generator saw me through for 48. Took a few pulls - subfreezing at 100% humidity. My boss couldn't start his at all.

Difference? I run the motor every eight weeks enough to dry it out, and I Stabil my gas. No draining the tank/carburetor, NO ETHANOL GAS. Tanks should be FULL for storage.

A combustion engine is a living thing. Sometimes it is a screaming animal; sometimes it is a subtle plant. Either way, it will die without attention.

Tommyb2401

Forum Newbie
Threads
Detergent oil.
?