Kubota intermittent starting question

Tdj2591

Threads
A friend’s Kubota zero turn (sorry, don’t yet know the model# or age but believe it’s likely at least a 60”) has intermittent starting issues. He asked me to look at it (I’m not a mechanic). He said he has to turn the switch to start a number of times before it will finally click and start. Also, the seat switch doesn’t always cut the motor when he rises off it with the blade in gear. I suggested checking all connections and grounds, starting with the new battery. I’m thinking a bad or loose connection, bad solenoid, bad switch, break in a wire or bad controller. Any suggestions on what and how to troubleshoot?

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
You give us very little info to even make a good guess. I’m guessing either a corroded or loose connection. Besti can recommend is follow this troubleshooting procedure and see what you find. Electrical troubleshooting is difficult even for an experienced technician, so you have your work cut out for you. If you post back you must give us model numbers, so we have something to base our guesses on.

Electrical problems can be very easy or very difficult, depending on four things.
1. How well you understand basic electricity.
2. What tools you have and know how to use.
3. How well you follow directions.
4. You don't overlook or assume anything and verify everything.

Remember we cannot see what you are doing. You are our eyes, ears and fingers in solving this problem. You must be as accurate as you can when you report back. The two basic tools we will ask you to use are a test light and a multi-meter. If you have an assistant when going through these tests it would be very helpful. These steps work the best when done in order, so please don't jump around. Now let's solve this problem.

First, check the fuse(s), check battery connections for corrosion (clean if necessary) and voltage - above 12.5 volts should be good. Check and make sure the chassis ground is clean and tight.