Export thread

JohnDeere Electric 90

K

KennyV

John Deere built this great electric Rider in the early 70's. It was a 36 volt system. Worked great, I had 2 of them, nice quiet rider, with 2 electric motors on the deck & one larger electric drive motor & 3 speed transmission. still have a lot of parts.
Here is a small picture I found on line...
:smile:KennyV

Attachments

R

Rivets

Kenny, that was the first electric I ever worked on. As you said great machine. Wish today's electrical systems were as easy to work on as back then. Thanks for bringing back good memories.

P

panabiker

Makes me wonder why we don't see more of them today. The battery technology has advanced quite a bit after 40 years.

M

msaeger

How long could you run on a charge with that?

K

KennyV

How long could you run on a charge with that?

If you kept things reasonably trimmed & mowed, you could mow 1/3 - 1/2 of an acre, (medium sized lawn), easily on a charge... :smile:KennyV

V

VA Husker

Hi,

I am new to the forum here...I just knew there were some admirers of the Electric 90!

I had to read the rules through an itty bitty window, so if showing a couple of mowers for sale is wrong...sorry.

Long story short, my Dad drove an electric car for years and a fellow told him that he could have his John Deere Electric 90 if he could pull it out from behind his barn.

So Dad pulled it out, cleaned it up, bought some batteries and a 36V charger, made a few small repairs and more or less retired his gas powered Cub Cadet. (Once he got the Electric 90 running, he really didn't feel like using the gas mower)! His yard and extra adjacent lot were probably closer to an acre than a half acre...I just thought it was amazing that they worked as well as they did. It still runs fine. The Interstate deep cycle batteries are probably 4 or 5 years old, but still cut about 3/4ths of that large area before needing to hit the charger for a while.