HG 2800 pumps question. Please.

Lawn Addict
Threads
OK took delivery today of my 2021 Brand new Scag Liberty 48" Z

The hydros are the HG 2800 model. I have no experience with them. My machine has 0.2 hours on it.

The Hydros seem to be awfully loud, & at WFO & any RPM for that matter, is this normal or what ? Do they quiet down after a while ? I don't want to hurt anything.

my Toro w/ EZT 2100's never made noise like this, maybe a little bit backing into it's park spot at lower rpm.

I have some deck height adjusting to do, so won't be mowing till then.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Bo.
They should be very quiet when new.
Strongly suggest you send an EMAIL from your computer to the dealer quering the noisy hydros, then print it out and staple it to your purchase receipt

Lawn Addict
Threads
Thank You Bert, I appreciate that, & I also spoke to a Hydro-Gear® tech as well. Said the same, should be pretty quiet.

Said on these newest 2800's (w/ no external expansion reservoir, starting this year.) to make sure the parking brake is fully releasing. If not, that can make the hydros really scream. And make them fail very early.

Plus the Dealer is planning to come & pick it up to take care of this.

Glad I still have my Toro waiting for action.

Last edited:

Born2Mow

Threads
Plus the Dealer is planning to come & pick it up to take care of this.
That's the VERY best way to deal with this. Then if the drives give up, at say 100 hours, then you got this complaint and return repair on record. Otherwise, with no documentation of this disorder, the dealer may be wanting you to pick up the bill if there is ever a major problem in the future. Be sure and keep all your paperwork... just in case.

And when you go to pick it up, be sure and drive another unit of the same model before you take yours home. If the dealer can't get yours to be as quite as the others on the sales floor, then you might not want to take yours home.

Lawn Addict
Threads