Br 600 Hard starting to no start

Teeton

Threads
Hi all! Ok back in the summer my girl friend bought a Br600. It worked very well for about the first few months. Really not a ton of use. I guess only 5 tanks of gas so far. Over the winter i used it to blow dry snow off the drive way. It start to get hard to start and then it would not start. So I took it back to the dealer as it was under warranty. The dealer tell me it would not start because the plug was oil fouled. Says I was running the wrong oil in it as you can only run stihl oil in it because of the valves. (Let me stop here for a minute, my trade is I'm an auto technician. So I'm not a new comer to engines) I have a lot of experience with 2 cycle. My dad owned a 600 acre tree farm. So lots of experience with 2 cycle. For 40 years or so we ran evinrude (Yes) boat oil in all our 2 cycle engines. In all them years we had never burnt up and engine using that oil. At one time I remember having 9 chain saws, mostly stihl, but a few cheap little homelite saws. I still have one of them cheap homelites that's got to be 35 years old and it's still runs with a few repairs, but still the same engine. Plus weed/brush wackers and so on. This is my first time with a 4 mix engine. **Do they really need stihl oil??** I probably wouldn't be type this thread if they didn't give us a bill for repairing it and it just need stihl oil. Also now that I know about the 4 mix I will adjust the valves from time to time. I'm kinda wondering if really the valves just came out of adjustment. The bill was not big, only 38 bucks. But blower was only 7 month old. Thanks Ed

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
The hybrid engines are new technology and unlike the 35 yea old homelite are in a higher state of tune .
The old "Your fault because you use the wrong oil" line is a standard fall back for we don't know & can't be bothered to find out.
However running marine oil in land engines can cause problems.