Which oil do you use?

lewb

Threads
New to forum. I am a snowmobiler and 2 stroke oil is big deal and much debate amounst us sledders. I have been using snowmobile in my lawn boy since I bought it new in 95. I have been using Blue Marble since 2002 in a 4.75 sliver. As stated in above post my son forgot to or check gas before he mowed and siezed the piston. It did unstick by itself and I did use it on a cool day with no problems after the incident. However on a warm day it did lock up again. Looks like the bottom ring was stuck causing too much friction on cyclinder wall. I tore motor apart and all the needle bearing show no signs of excessive heat as well as the crank. I attribute that to the oil I have been using. Another reason I like the Blue Marble is that it does not smoke as bad as other oils. There are several oils that do not smoke manily synthetic which blue marble is not. I did pick up a 6.5 dura force which has the muffler on the side instead of in the deck all the more reason for a smokeless oil.

Anyway I am curious if most use the LB oil or any kind they find at walmart? At 32 to 1 any oil is going to do the job as noted by how many 70's era mowers still running. A LB teck told me not to run any less than 32 to 1 as that mix helps cool motor even though with the synthetic oils of today you could get away with 50 to 1.

impalass

Threads