Export thread

Toro Z Master Z147 74176

Micah Haarhoff

Micah Haarhoff

Hi I have a Toro Z master Z147 44" zero turn model 74176 I paid $400 for it out of sombodys scrap pile. I got it all running at everything, but now it's leeking oil A LOT. It seems to be leeking from the very bottom of the engine under the OHV by the oil filter Bu only while its running ,but I can't find where it's coming from Is there some plug or something Maybe a drain plug that's not tight? Thanks

Maybe that was why it was in scrap pile. Anyhow, need more info, what engine #'s are on it & etc ?

Micah Haarhoff

Micah Haarhoff

FH500V-DS10 kawasaki v twin OHV 17.0 hp

R

Rivets

My guess it is either the valve cover gasket or head gasket.

Micah Haarhoff

Micah Haarhoff

Its leeking from under the valve cover thing --that thing that the spark plug is in?

Micah Haarhoff

Micah Haarhoff

How hard is it to replace those gasgets?

R

Rivets

Sorry, now you have got me sucked in. If you have to ask that question, you should never have tried to save that piece of equipment. For me to change those gaskets, about 1-1 1/2 hours, if you have never done it before, only time will tell. Can this be done by a beginner? Yes, If they have the manual and the right tools. Have you tried to find a manual for that engine or look for a U-tube video on how to do it, or did you just expect someone here to give you are magic wrench?

B

bertsmobile1

degrease the engine thoroughly and blow dry.

Dust with spray on talcum powder till you get a nice white cost all around where you think the oil is coming from.
Run the engine for a minute or two.
The oil will leave a nice dark wet mark in the nice white powder.
Take some photos of it then post them so we can all have a gekko .
We will then advice you further.