Starting issues with Old Craftsman Riding Mower

captroosh

Forum Newbie
Threads
I am a noob to the forum. Checked FAQ's but didn't see this addreses

I have an old Craftsman Riding mower rear engine job circa 1998. Briggs and Stratton 10.5 HP Sears engine Model # 143.991002. The engine on it has run on this mower very well over the last 10 years. Recently When I was cutting the grass I poured fuel in while it was running as battery was weak. The mower then stalled and did not want to run. I assumed fuel issue. I checked the fuel line and carb bowl fuel was flowing. The engine cranks. I managed to get it to start but it would die within 10 to 30 seconds.

I rebuilt the carb and cleaned it. I managed to get it to start and it ran a little longer and was running much faster but again it quit. I had the airfilter assembly off and choke open and could see a drop of gas come out of choke area while I was cranking it but it wouldn't start again. I have not played with since Sunday. Has new plug and battery now. Any suggestions.

Any help would be appreciated.

reynoldston

Lawn Pro
Threads
Get your self a can of stating fluid and a spark tester from your local auto parts store. Check for a good spark with the plug IN the engine. If you have a good spark spray some starting fluid into the carburetor and see if it runs of a few seconds. If it does run for a few seconds you still have a carburetor problem and if not it is timing or compression problems. If that is the case it is another story and we can go from there.

captroosh

Forum Newbie
Threads
Ok I have managed to start it for a few seconds with stater fluid but have not checked the spark. Will get a tester and go from there. Thanks for the quick response.

reynoldston

Lawn Pro
Threads