Left the key ON... Not Good

sillyboy

Threads
When you jumped the solenoid what exactly did you jump and did you have the key turned to on? If not, that wouldn't explain why it won't turn over using the key but it could be why you don't smell fuel or have spark when you jumped the solenoid.
Hello,
I jumped across the 2 large bolts sticking out of the top of the solenoid. I tried the key on the on position, and even turned the key to start while jumping the terminals. I believe an interlock is bad or the carb. solenoid is bad, as stated above by Clever Dick.

I do not have the mower at this time. It's in a repair shop. I can't work on it anyway. It's really cold here.

Thanks
sb

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
This is the first time I ever left the key in the ignition. Getting old...Senior moment...

Thanks
As a service tech I do it quite frequently and just leaving the key on does no damage to the mower .
In extreme cases it can burn out the carb solenoid because it does not get either fuel flowing across it or air blowing around it .
However because it draws around 0.05A all it usually does is flatten the battery so deeply iit is near impossible to recharge the battery again .
My problem is on a lot of mowers the key on will cause the hour meter to run so muck up the operating hours reading .
Back to your mower
If you look at the wiring diagram and read the connection table at the bottom of the page you will see that in the ON position the B ( ballery ) terminal on the key switch is connected to the L ( lights on some mowers ) terminal
Now put your finger on the L in the diagram and follow it
You will see that the only thing connected is the afterfire solenoid
Thus leaving the key on can only damage the solenoid & the battery

Now look at the START table & you will see that connects the battery to the S ( Start ) terminal so power runs from ther THROUGH the BRAKE switch then THROUGH the PTO switch then to the solenoid trigger wire