JD 135 starts fine and runs with choke closed but dies as soon as choke is opened.

danstarks

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / JD 135 starts fine and runs with choke closed but dies as soon as choke is opened.
Hi all. This problem is killing me. I'm a mechanic by trade (industrial equipment) but this has me stumped. It starts up fine, runs fine, but as soon as it either runs for about 10 seconds or I open the choke it dies.

I first drained all the gas and replaced it with new gas. Then I replaced the fuel filter and fuel pump. Then I replaced the spark plugs. Then I replaced the fuel filter and pump again with real John Deere brand since I got the first ones from Amazon.

Nothing has worked at all. No improvement or change in symptoms.

Any help would be incredibly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
  • / JD 135 starts fine and runs with choke closed but dies as soon as choke is opened.
JD did a pretty good hiding the fact that the engine is Briggs and Stratton V-twin but it appears to be the 445577-0110-E1. And JD real branded parts are just rebranded Briggs parts; therefore, you are paying more just for the JD name and packaging. You should buying OEM Briggs parts, although, the vacuum fuel is usually a generic one anyways.

The Oregon 07-700, Rotary 10875, and Stens 520-590 fuel pumps are just as good and costs less than the JD UC18349 that is marked up Briggs 808656 fuel pump or a cheap after market part. Now the Stens is usually listed just as high as the JD one which is why I use the Oregon pump.

Most likely the carburetor needs a good cleaning and new related gaskets. Also maybe loose electrical connection to the carburetor fuel solenoid.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
You are a mechanic so runs with choke & dies without should scream fuel supply
The twin cylinder B & S engines with plastic manifolds are very prone to warping thus sucking air