Hydrostatic Transaxles on everyday riding lawn mowers

4950cycle

Threads
  • / Hydrostatic Transaxles on everyday riding lawn mowers
Hi, I'm a newbie here , I notice a lot of riding lawn mowers boast "Hydrostatic Transaxles". But all the riding lawnmowers I've ever worked on have what looks to me is all direct mechanical drive componants variable pulleys, internal gears and such . I've noticed no fluid drive hoses or seals. And have opened them up to replace worn out axle gears and such only to find a gear box full of nothing but grease. Whats Hydro about it ? How do they get away with this boloney ? :rolleyes:

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
I suggest you haven't been around for a while. Goggle these manufacturers and you will see what a Hydrostatic Transaxle is. Torq Tuff, Peerless, HydroGear, Spicer/Dana. Take part one of these and the only gears you will see are those which make up the differential. This is no baloney to those of us who repair them, there is a big difference between a six speed gear transmission and a hydrostatic transaxle.

sgmgarden

Threads
Welcome to the forum :smile:

Carscw

Lawn Pro
Threads
Hi, I'm a newbie here , I notice a lot of riding lawn mowers boast "Hydrostatic Transaxles". But all the riding lawnmowers I've ever worked on have what looks to me is all direct mechanical drive componants variable pulleys, internal gears and such . I've noticed no fluid drive hoses or seals. And have opened them up to replace worn out axle gears and such only to find a gear box full of nothing but grease. Whats Hydro about it ? How do they get away with this boloney ? :rolleyes:

I understand your thinking.
We see the word hydro and think there is a pump with hoses going to a motor.

Like a car has a hydromatic tranny

(( cowboy up and get over it ))

4950cycle

Threads