Howdy all. New here, thought I'd introduce myself.

Oddball

Threads
  • / Howdy all. New here, thought I'd introduce myself.
I've been fighting a losing battle with my yard for several years now. Actually I'd just flat out given up the last 2 or 3 years. We've lived in our house for 12 years and had a fairly nice lush lawn for the first four or five years. The previous owner had taken good care of the yard and the next door neighbor took care of his as well. When we bought the house my wife and I agreed that she would take care of the flower beds, azaleas, etc. and I'd take care of the lawn. I love having lush green grass, but despise taking care of shrubs and flowers. Well, the wife became ill and just couldn't get out and keep up with the flowers like she wanted but wouldn't let me scale back the beds to a more manageable size, and our neighbor fell on hard times physically and financially and couldn't keep up with his yard any longer, so his yard became overgrown and full of weeds. The weeds of course, spread to my lawn and we ended up with two yards with overgrown shrubs/flower beds and weed filled lawns that were slowly dying off. In addition to that, we've been in a drought here in the south for the last few years which restricted the amount of watering we could do to our yards, so between the drought and the weeds, there's not much grass left in our yard. Every spring I spray weed killer on our yard and on our neighbor's in an attempt to at least slow down the weed growth. This year however, I decided to give another try at saving what's left of our lawn. In early March I decided to over seed our yard and so aerated, limed, fertilized and seeded instead of spraying for weeds.. I had to do something or we'd have nothing but a mud hole for a yard pretty soon. We've had a fairly cool spring this year so far and the new fescue is doing well, so I'm going to spray for weeds soon and hope the new grass is now strong enough to tolerate hte weed killer and strong en