Cub Cadet / Kawasaki FR730V engine stalls and dies...

wanoyee

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Cub Cadet / Kawasaki FR730V engine stalls and dies...
I have a zero-turn CC Z-Force SZ48 with Kawasaki FR730V engine... Started having problems a couple weeks ago when it would stutter/sputter then die after running for ~20-30 mins. If I waited a while, 15-20 mins, it would start up again and then run for a while again, then die again. Talked to someone at the dealership who thought it could be the ignition coils. So I replaced the coils... But it still does the same thing.

Friend said it needs to have the jets cleaned. So I have the air filter off and am looking inside the bowl but can't really see the jets the way the carb is designed. Have sprayed carb cleaner into it and run it just idling. Not sure this solves the problem.

I've looked for vids of disassembling the carb but cannot find any! Any links on how to disassemble and get to the jets? I'm new to the small engine kind of thing... Any help is appreciated.

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
Is firing right back up after dying or does it have to sit a while?

Also note once you start taking hte carburetor apart new gaskets will be need and I not talking about the bowl gasket either.

wanoyee

Forum Newbie
Threads
It has to sit a while... Which made me think coils.

Well, I did figure out how to get the carb off... duh. Cleaned it as well as I could. Really didn't look dirty at all. Put everything back, fired it up and started mowing. About 10 mins later it starts to sputter, then dies.

I'm guessing that maybe the fuel pump is the problem? Don't know what else it could be...? Oil looks good. Just got it back from service in June.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
grass clippings get into the fuel tank.
Fuel replaces the water in the clippings and they become almost transparent.
Even worse they end up being the same density as the fuel they are in so they float around.