2004 TroyBilt Bronco 18.5 HP B&S Stalling!

Firebirdman469

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello everyone, this is my first post so take it easy on me!

I just purchased a 2004 TroyBilt Bronco with an 18.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Intek engine. The carburetor needle and float were bad so it was letting gas into the crankcase. I bought a carb rebuild kit, cleaned the carb out and replaced the gaskets, needle, etc. I put everything back together and started it up. I changed the oil 3 times to make sure there wasnt any gas left over in the crankcase, and everything seemed fine. I hopped on it, started it up, and noticed that the idle seemed a little off... I'm still new to small engines, so I'm hoping you guys can help me out. I managed to adjust the air/fuel mixture screw and the throttle screw so that it would idle really well in all throttle positions. However, as soon as I go to push the accelerator, it sputters and stalls. In addition, whenever I go to engage the mower deck, it sputters and stalls. Am I missing something with my adjustment? Any ideas on what may be wrong? Keep in mind that I am fairly new to these engines...

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I purchased the mower for $250 and have about $100 in battery, oil changes, and the carb rebuild kit. I'm trying to save myself the $100+ of taking it to a small engine mechanic...

-James

EngineMan

Lawn Addict
Threads
Hello everyone, this is my first post so take it easy on me!

I managed to adjust the air/fuel mixture screw and the throttle screw so that it would idle really well in all throttle positions.

-James

Was the seal (gasket) between carb and engine looked ok. you may have a leak.
Readjust the air/fuel mixture screw up a little more richer, maybe running a little too lean.
Carburetor Adjustment