Walk-behind String vs brush cutter, reviews needed

Homer1

Threads
So, we own about 20 acres of land of which 5 or more needs to be kept clear each year. At least 1 acre of this is down by a creek and in somewhat marshy conditions which allows for quick growth and lots of random weeds and plants to take root. While I don't have to keep this acre totally clean, it would be nice to keep a small part of it clean in the form of a wide path down to our creek.

I bought a tractor this year to bush hog most of the easily reached areas, but that's another story.

Needless to say this area had some already young trees and saplings alike, with the majority of it being 1/4" thick weeds and plants, up to 1", maybe even some 1.5" stuff. We'd like to keep a path cleared in order to get to the creek for fishing and swimming with the kids, but I'm not sure which way to go.

I have never used a walk-behind string trimmer before, but I have obviously used a weed-eater. My concern with the string trimmer is that debris will constantly be jamming up on the head causing me to have to stop and clear, as well as constantly feed the head with new string. However the price is much better than that of the brush cutter which uses blades. It may also assist in keeping the fence row's clean and free of junk, which helps the entire farm look better. Below is the option I am considering for the job. I don't know much about the brand either, but it's what's available locally.

http://www.lowes.com/pd/Swisher-163-cc-22-in-String-Trimmer-Mower/4740404

Likewise, they sell a much more expensive walk-behind brush option, which obviously would do alot more dammage to the debris I am cutting. It works much like a bush-hog and chops things into a fine mess, including small saplings and sticks. My main issue with this is it's overall price. For as much as I would use it, I don't know if it's going to be worth the money. Here's the option for it.