Techumseh V60 no/low spark

techguy

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have a Techumseh vertical V60 motor that goes to a Big Mow. I am having issue with the generator portion in that I can't get any spark out of it. I have managed to get some spark by placing the magnets onto the flywheel where I think they belong. I have no experience with these engines. I've replaced the condenser, the magneto (plastic part with the coil inside and plug wire), and the points. I've adjusted the points to .20 or .020 or whatever it's supposed to be.

I've got to the point where I can actually feel some electricity thru the wire and ground, but when I do a spark plug test, there's nothing. Any suggestions? Here is a pic of the setup. Thanks!

FYI, thanks for the lame pic size limitation. Who does this?

rsz_20150810_142049.jpg

motoman

Lawn Addict
Threads
The manual is very good and goes thru the spark portion. There is a warning not to re-glue magnets to the fly wheel. IMO where the magnet is glued affects the pulse put into the coil which is later stepped up. If that position is off just a hair it may spoil the cycle. Maybe you can find a good used or new flywheel? Also take a look at the "low oil switch" troubleshooting guide.

techguy

Forum Newbie
Threads
When you replaced the magneto, did you set the timing? If you don't know what I am talking about, you didn't and that is your problem. An time you remove the magneto assembly on the old Tecumseh's you must reset the timing, which comes after you set the points. Check pages 63-71 of this manual.

http://www.mymowerparts.com/pdf/Tec...P-4-CYCLE-L-HEAD-FLAT-HEAD-ENGINES-692509.pdf

Reset the timing..OK I am going to look that up as well. The magneto portion is just a slide-on replacement, doesn't seem to be any timing parts there but I will take your advice and RTFM. Thanks!

motoman

Lawn Addict
Threads