Export thread

so much confusion on Kawasaki oil filters.

F

Fastrak1972

the number on my filter that came on the mower (fastrak 60 kawasaki ft-730) is

49065-0721​

I do have more room for a much taller filter which I'd like to move to. There are so many confusing part numbers that "replace" other part numbers. Can anyone tell me a good "longer" oil filter to use for this Kawasaki ft-730 engine.

StarTech

StarTech

Briggs 491056 / Kohler 52 050 02 / Fram PH3614 / Stens 120-345 are four possibles. 3" OD 3" - 3-1/4" Height

Scrubcadet10

Scrubcadet10

a Wix 51348 or a Napa 1348 may work too

D

Dunrollin

I saw something a few years ago on this subject and at that time someone recommended Fram PH3600 filters. I have been using them for the past 3 years and so far it has been good. Seems to be about double the capacity. This is on a Kawasaki FR691.

filter.jpg

This is the replacement for the 49065-0721, it is almost 3 inches long. But is narrower on the O.D. But is said to hold same volume of oil. Anyhow, since mine is still under warranty, I will stick to Kaw filters.. (for now)..

GENUINE OEM KAWASAKI OIL FILTER PART # 49065-0724
REPLACES 49065-7010
REPLACES 49065-2078
CAN BE USED ON MOST ALL KAWASAKI ENGINES
CAN ALSO REPLACE 49065-7007

oil-filter (3).png

C

clubairth

Yes I have also added a longer and larger capacity filter. Here is what I found for my Kawasaki FR691V engine.
Factory called for #49065-7007

Wix 57035 2.3" long-This is the same length as the stock filter.
Wix 51056 2.7" long
Wix 51348 3.4" long
Wix 51516 4.8" long

Here is a picture of the #51516 installed. You can see it just touches the plastic fender but has caused no problems.
I also added a factory oil cooler.

Wix 51516 Install.jpg

StarTech

StarTech

Well that's your opinion. Just wait until the fender mounting points break sooner than they normally do.

C

clubairth

Actually they don't! Sometimes real life experience helps in situations like this!

StarTech

StarTech