Scotts S1642 Won't Turn Over

shard77

Forum Newbie
Threads
New member looking for some advice.

I have a Scotts S1642 riding mower that is about 10 years old. The unit has been struggling to start (i.e. Slow cranking but eventually catching) for several months now. In the past when I've had problems, I've "topped off" the battery with my charger and the machine has started ok. When I've been unable to get it to start it the past, it would usually make a audible clicking sound, but refuse to turn over. Now it's doing absolutely nothing when I turn the key.

Does this sound like a starter solenoid? I picked a generic one up at Lowes this morning on the off chance that it might be the issue. I'm a novice when it comes to these types of things so any help would be appreciated. If it does sound like the solenoid, does anyone know where I can find it on my machine.

Thanks, in advance, for the advice.

Last edited:

jmurray01

, , 1,000 Post Club
Threads
The clicking means the battery was getting low and not fully engaging the Pinion Gear, and doing nothing usually means the battery is comletely dead, not usually a problem with the Starter Motor.

I'm not saying it definitely isn't the Starter Motor though, it could be the solenoid, but I'd probably try changing the battery first.

shard77

Forum Newbie
Threads
Thanks for the quick reply.

The battery is actually only a month old and I put it on my charger last night and fully charged it.

I tried the machine this morning and still got nothing.

webuyanymower.com

Threads
Could be a number of things but if battery is good and well charged and still no clicking then I would look at the safety switches as they are the next thing that is likely to give trouble on a machine of this vintage. You should have a switch under the Seat, on the cutter deck and on the brake pedal and maybe even one on the gear box to make sure the machine is in neutral when starting.