Engine SCAG Tiger Cub 19 HP Kawasaki eratic idle

thekid

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello, hoping someone here can help- I'm going crazy! I bought a tiger cub with Kawasaki 19 HP moto new 3 years ago. I have less then 200 hours on motor and mower. This mower is only used on my property of less then 5 acres.
On occasion when I cut the grass the motor idle will jump up and down. Sometimes I can go for 3 hours without any problem then suddenly motor idle will get eratic. It can happen without the cutting deck engaged and just idleing or while I am cutting. If it does it when I'm cutting the motor will die. It's been back to the dealer twice for this problem with no luck. Help, I'd like to get thru this season without this problem. On the positive side the mower itself is a tank.
Model: Scag Tiger Cub STC48V- 19KAI

Mad Mackie

Lawn Addict
Threads
I'm a retired mechanic but in addition to limited commercial mowing I do maintenance on machines for a select group of customers. Trouble shooting is an acquired art and difficult to do on line but I will give you some possibilities. All modern power equipment engines that have electric start and a charging system have a fuel shutoff solenoid in the carburetor and this is required by mandatory safety standards. Modern engines have ignition systems that do not need a power source to produce spark, just cranking the engine provides the spark at the right time for ignition. However the rest of the machine is electrically dependant and the control of this electricity starts at the key switch and into the electrical system that includes many safety circuits. The fuel shutoff solenoid is part of the electrical system that needs power to keep it open during operation and can be problematic along with the keyswitch itself. The keyswitch has many functions; grounding the ignition system to shut down the engine, disconnecting the charging system to prevent backfeeding, and removing the battery power from all systems connected to it when in t