Ryobi RY08576 Pack Blower Starting Issue

captsupercow

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello all!

I recently got a 2-stroke Ryobi pack blower from a friend, non-running and have been trying to get it running. I have never worked on a gas blower before but have rebuilt many chainsaws and a couple lawnmowers. The blower is a Ryobi RY08576 with a small 25.4cc engine. It did not have any gas in it so I tried putting a little in and see if it would start with no luck. I checked the spark plug against the frame and it is getting spark, a little hard to see but it was there.

So next I looked at the air filter that was fairly clean, then started getting into the carb. Looking at the carb the fuel screen was pretty dirty and the diaphragms were crispy-stiff. I ordered a carb kit for it and cleaned/rebuilt the carb. Made sure that the primer was pulling fuel through and all seemed well. Put it back together and still nothing, not even a pop. The engine is definitely getting gas as I had to drain it after flooding a few times.

My next step was to try a new spark plug, got one, still nothing. Next I checked compression. Compression reading at about 100-110psi which I think should be enough? Lastly I tried just shooting a bit of starting fluid in to see if we could get anything and still again, not even a pop. Looking through the exhaust, the piston sides look clean, the tube walls are pretty clear. I'm kind of lost on this one.

I suspect that possibly the ignition coil is failing? I mean it's getting spark, but is it strong enough?

I hope by reaching out I might be able to get some advice on this.
Thanks!!

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Here is where you need one of those 3 point spark testers or a moving contact spark tester to see just how strong the spark is.
With these 2 stroke screamers, the magneto is optimised for the running speed up around 10,000 rpm so often the cranking spark is quite weak
Check the spark timing best you can