Export thread

Rider Mower battery question

B

bt-99

Hi, im new to rider mowers and just have a few battery questions. #1: When you go to start your mower for the first time in the spring and it doesn't start, do you just go and buy a new battery or do you try to charge it first? #2: If you try to charge it, how do you know if battery will take a charge or not? #3: Is it necessary to charge mower battery beforing storing for winter and before starting in spring? I never do that. I just leave battery hooked up in mower during storage and hope for the best. How do you do it? Thanks

TonyPrin

TonyPrin

If you live in an area (like I do) that gets temps in the 30s or below your mower's battery can be damaged by the cold. It's best to remove your battery and bring it into a basement or other place with moderate temps. I charge my battery for a few hours 3-4 times in winter and before I first use it with a trickle charger so it's ready to go. If you keep the battery in the mower, you can still charge it before first use but with the cables disconnected. Use an inexpensive battery tester or multimeter (what I use) to test your battery before just replacing it. Finally, my trickle charger shows me if the battery is too damaged to hold a charge.

B

bt-99

If you live in an area (like I do) that gets temps in the 30s or below your mower's battery can be damaged by the cold. It's best to remove your battery and bring it into a basement or other place with moderate temps. I charge my battery for a few hours 3-4 times in winter and before I first use it with a trickle charger so it's ready to go. If you keep the battery in the mower, you can still charge it before first use but with the cables disconnected. Use an inexpensive battery tester or multimeter (what I use) to test your battery before just replacing it. Finally, my trickle charger shows me if the battery is too damaged to hold a charge.