Export thread

Residential grade zero turn durability

J

jmarwill

I am a home owner with a 1-acre flat lot. I have been looking at the residential line of Toro zero turn mowers (timecutter series). I keep hearing that the residential grade mowers are not as durable as the commercial mowers (that's understandable) but will I notice a difference between the commercial and residential mower in terms of what each can do for me? In other words, is a residential mower likely to limit me?

If I perform regular maintenance on the mower and keep it stored in my garage, how long can I expect it to last (hours of us or number of years)?

Thanks. I'm new to zero-turn mowers and new to this forum - I appreciate any advice you can give me.

txzrider

txzrider

I will take a shot... my snapper lasted 12 years before I had any issues... and then it was a siezed bearing. I finally replaced it at 15 years ... I found a (still residential) mower that had a killer feature that I needed. My Country clipper Deck slides out from under it for very easy maintenance. With maintenance and proper care, I believe it will last 15 years are longer. It is heavier duty than the Snapper, but still not full blown commercial. So find one with the features and size and price to meet your needs and go for it.

R

Rivets

Being a Toro guy, I'll say you can't go wrong with the Timecutter series. If properly maintained it will last as long as anything else out there today. Have one customer who's Z we have been servicing since 2003. I would recommend adding a mulching kit, for a better looking lawn and an hour meter, so you can better track when to service.

lawn mower fanatic

lawn mower fanatic

Like the others said, if you maintain something it will last you a long time--even if it's not commercial. I think the Timecutter series is a good mower to look into! :thumbsup:

A_tank96

A_tank96