Rebuilt Intek 20 OHV 31P977 won't start

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
Question here. Did you align both dots or did use the crankshaft keyway instead of the dot on the crank gear? So techs miss the crank gear timing dot and try to use the crankshaft key. Also I have seen a few 793880 cams with two dots. IF this is the case you want to align with the one that has through hole the web arm

JPJ-2020

Forum Newbie
Threads
Engine needs Spark (at the right time) Fuel, and Compression... and correct valve timing.
i would check the flywheel key that is aligned perfect and not sheared.
Or if you have any starting fluid/carburetor cleaner, spray some into the intake through the carburetor, then try to start, if it starts then dies, probably a fuel issue, if it doesn't hit on carb spray through intake probably a spark timing issue.
Thank you. I'm a novice at this and probably should never had tried this but I figured what the heck. Still learning.

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
As with all learning you to have reference materials. In this case service manuals, notes, and even pictures along a experience help. It is basically like going to school except it is technical (trade) school.

Have you downloaded a copy of the Briggs Single Cylinder OHV service manual? It is a good guide but doesn't cover everything.

kevindixon

Forum Newbie
Threads