Old Tecumseh, carb issue

arch252

Threads
My neighbor dug out a really old Hornet mini bike with a 2.5 hp Tecumseh engine that he wanted me to take a look at. I've been known to refurbish small engines and clean a few carbs but I'm no expert. The engine is a model H25-25162H and the carb is a simple gravity fed bowl/float design. The fuel fed down from a detached tank through one of those 90 degree elbows into the carb. The engine itself was in great shape, a lot of carbon deposits on the cylinder head and valves but they cleaned up great and the cylinder is nice and smooth. I took the carb down and broke it down and cleaned it. I replaced all the gaskets, including the bowl gasket and the needle valve and seat and yes, the little groove side went in first. The carb has two of the punch out plugs and I opted not to mess with them until I saw how everything else worked. So I put it all back together and got everything ready to go. Most of the linkages were missing and what was there were homemade replacements. I worked all that out, although I'm still unsure of a couple of things, the needle valve that runs though the bowl nut and the needle valve on the side of the carb, I don't know how many turns the factory set position would be for either of them.