Old K241

wekjo

Threads
Have an old JD 110, 1973 model with a K241, which I have been tinkering on for a couple years. Finally got it up and running, began chopping leaves. Ran well for about 2 hours then it stopped dead, seems like fuel starvation. If you wait a few minutes it will restart but only very briefly, not even long enough to suck a float bowl dry. Plenty of good gas, fuel line unobstructed, when you spin the starter with the fuel line disconnected at the carb you can see fuel squirting. Removing the float bowl finds it full of gas, the float bobs freely up and down, and it is clean as a whistle in there. Choke and throttle cables are connected and working well. Sprayed WD40 through the holes for the main and idle circuits, seems no obstruction there either. Put the bowl back on same brief start up. If the main was plugged it would idle and if the idle was plugged it would run with throttle open. It is not smoking and the plug is clean. Any helpful thoughts?

ILENGINE

Lawn Royalty
Threads
two things that come to mind. Do you have fire and the plug. Could be a plug or coil issue that is allowing intermittent start. the other thing is if you have had the head off and didn't replace the head bolts, you may be blowing the head gasket. Most of the time with this problem the engine will restart and run after cooling down.

wekjo

Threads
Thanks for your input. Seems to me that if it was the head gasket there would have been a more gradual loss of power and shut down, this is just shutting off the gas type of quit. Supposedly the top end of the engine was just professionally redone when I got it and it ran very strong. However I will check the head bolts to see if torqued. This has a compression release to ease starting which makes checking the compression a mystery to me.