Newbie questions.

Walker3555

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi

I'm new to riding mowers and lawn tractors and I hope someone can enlighten me on a couple of points. I've just brought a secondhand yardmachine 662, 13.5hp, 38" cut. It works well and starts everytime, but I have 2 issues.

Firstly, the flywheel has lost all its magnets and the charging circuit is smashed. This means I have to periodically charge up the battery, but when I do the mower starts everytime so I can put up with this at present. Is the charging circuit attached to the motor? If I replaced the motor in the future will this rectify the problem? The motor is a tecumseh.

Secondly, the mower cuts well until I hit thicker or tall grass, (6" - 9"). The deck belt, which is brand new, starts to slip and smoke. Is this normal?

Cheers Mark

Carscw

Lawn Pro
Threads
Hi

I'm new to riding mowers and lawn tractors and I hope someone can enlighten me on a couple of points. I've just brought a secondhand yardmachine 662, 13.5hp, 38" cut. It works well and starts everytime, but I have 2 issues.

Firstly, the flywheel has lost all its magnets and the charging circuit is smashed. This means I have to periodically charge up the battery, but when I do the mower starts everytime so I can put up with this at present. Is the charging circuit attached to the motor? If I replaced the motor in the future will this rectify the problem? The motor is a tecumseh.

Secondly, the mower cuts well until I hit thicker or tall grass, (6" - 9"). The deck belt, which is brand new, starts to slip and smoke. Is this normal?

Cheers Mark

Is the belt a MTD belt or did you buy a cheap one?
On this mower the engine RPMs should drop before the belt slips. So could be wrong belt. Or rust on the pulleys check the pulleys and springs.

The charging is part of the engine if you don't mind jump starting it I would leave it be. If you swap out the engine yes it will charge the battery.

Sent from my iPhone using LMF

Walker3555

Forum Newbie