New Scag owner, in love, for now....

hveich

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have been mowing about 8-10 acres at home for 20 years or so with a small 54" lawn tractor, finally I'm old and worn out. 2011 TT. I have read the posts and figured out how to get to the oil drain valve (Gearwrench), and now will have to search how to get the frontend up and the process to change the blades. This is a good forum and a great source of how to (or not to) and I look forward to searching for info and parting with what I do Know. thanks to you all.....Bill in Indiana....

Briana

Lawn Addict
Threads
Welcome to LawnMowerForum!

I moved your thread to the Scag Forum. :smile:

Mad Mackie

Lawn Addict
Threads
Hi Bill in Indiana,
Welcome to the Scag Forum. What model and deck size do you have?
There is a device called a MoJack that is handy for jacking up the front of a ZTR. MoJack makes three models, 300, 500, and 750 LB models. Needless to say the price increases as the capacity increases. If you have a Tractor Supply Co. nearby, they may have the 300 LB model in stock.
Scag ZTRs have a 9 1/2" long 5/8" diameter blade bolt that is installed from the bottom, passing up thru the blade and associated spacers/washers, thru the spindle and held in place by the nut on the top. The front of a Scag needs to be raised up a fair amount to let the blade bolts come out of the spindles, particularly the outboard spindles. When I install blades I use a 200 FT LB torque wrench set to 75 FT LBS, hold the nut with a combination wrench which I let rest up against something firm, and torque the bolt from underneath. I use a 1/2" drive air impact wrench to remove the nuts and I let the blade bolts drop to the floor and then jack up the front on the machine.