new guy with new Bad Boy Outlaw 810

samot

Threads
20140629_074033.jpgHello all .....
I recently purchased a BB Outlow , 810 Briggs ,61 in cut mower.......
Compared to my old John Deere 316 the bad boy is VERY nice.
Im not a professional mower but I like a nice yard .
we have roughly 6 acres , about 3.5 of that is fenced in pasture for the wifes horse , the rest (2.5) I mow ,
it's all different terrain. .
Some nice and flat, some mean inclines leading to basement entrance.
I have no idea what kind of grass I have [hopefully I will find out from this forum)
But we live out in the sticks and have lots of trees to mow around couple road ditches (mole problem)
Entire pasture is mowed 2 rows on the inside and of course I have to mow up again the fence while mowing the yard
The new mower makes short work of it compared to the ol John deere 316
Don't get me wrong ...... The ol deere was a good lawn tractor but the bad boy runs circles around it
When it comes to mowing.
Couple things ....
When I first started mowing with the bad boy of course it takes some getting used to.
Learned pretty fast.
Initially I had it set on 2 in cut .....
Not sure of it was cutting 2 in but I didn't like the height of the grass so I lowered it to 1.5 and raised the mower up on jack stands
And moved the deck wheels up one bolt hole all the way around
Mostly because just lowering the pin to 1.5 still didn't give me the cut I wanted ......
Now it gives me the height of cut I like.
Sometimes, it scalps a spot or two due to some of the terrain around the yard
But on the main flats it gives me the cut I like .
The mower is comfortable. ... Although I wish I could swing the fancy seat the factory one will work .
I just now have 23 hrs on her
I mow minimum of once a week and power wash her after every 2nd mow
I recently got a little cocky with it and took it out to the center of the uncut pasture and mowed my boys a circle