Export thread

need suggestions for dependable ZTR < $4500

P

pete326

I'm interested in buying my first ZTR and could use some suggestions on which ones to consider on a budget of $4500 max ... that's signed, sealed, delivered and ready to cut grass. Our property is slighter more than an acre, pretty much poker-flat with quite a bit of open space. I've done some research and have identified 3 similar machines ... Gravely ZT-XL48, Hustler Raptor SD and Toro MX5060 ... that might be good choices and are available from reputable local dealers. The reviews I've read (which, as a newbie, I view with a bit of skepticism) say each company has a good reputation for building solid residential-level machines. I've visited a few dealers and found all 3 machines to be very close in price with close-to-identical published specifications. For me, this is where the problem arises. If the machines sell for (close to) the same price and have very similar features and specs, how to you draw a distinction and decide what to buy? I'm sure there are other models in this price range, but these seem to get consistently favorable reviews. Dealers handling other brands are either some distance away and/or aren't known to have great customer service. In any case, I'm anxious to see your comments regarding the pros and cons of the Gravely, Hustler and Toro as well as recommendations of other comparable machines. One last thing, since it looks like most machines sell for less when bought online, what kind of experience is reasonable to expect when buying online instead of from a dealer? Thanks for your comments and suggestions.

S

shiftsuper175607