Export thread

Need Re-wiring Help

S

sano888

Put a clone engine on a rear engine Snapper for my sister's friend. Small engine instructor at the local career tech ok'd my wiring (see diagram). Mower started and ran. Now it won't start. Did I do it wrong? I am a novice. Speak slowly when replying. No big words. Thanks.

clone wiring 1.jpg.pngclone wiring 2.jpg

B

bertsmobile1

We really need to see some photos.
Check the fuse
What does the engine do when you turn the key ?
What make & model engine did you fit ?
A photo of the wires coming out of the engine going to the plug that connects to the motor would also be benificial.

S

sano888

I gave the mower back so no photos available.
She told me engine is dead. Gets no response when she turns the key.
No engine make or model as it is a clone engine. Mower is a Series 9 RER Snapper.
Diagram shows exactly how I wired it with where I connected wires.

S

sano888

Could the fuel solenoid be draining the battery since it would be always on? If I move the fuel solenoid to the other side of the starter solenoid, would that cause a problem?

B

bertsmobile1

Yes it will drain the battery so low that it is not able to be recharged
It can also burn out the windings in the coil as there is neither fuel flowing through the carb nor air blowing down the side to cool it .
The solenoid goes to a terminal that is powered when the key is on.
Usually marked with an A or L on the back of the switch .

S

sano888

Yes it will drain the battery so low that it is not able to be recharged
It can also burn out the windings in the coil as there is neither fuel flowing through the carb nor air blowing down the side to cool it .
The solenoid goes to a terminal that is powered when the key is on.
Usually marked with an A or L on the back of the switch .
So should I move the fuel solenoid from the positive side of the starter solenoid to the switched side of the starter solenoid?

B

bertsmobile1

No