Need orifice size of main jet for 5hp pulsa-jet carb

Telesis

Threads
  • / Need orifice size of main jet for 5hp pulsa-jet carb
Engine is a 5HP Briggs horizontal shaft I/C engine. 132212-0362-01 Carb part number: 492611
It utilizes a fixed jet in the pickup and mine is plugged. The engineer in me would like to know what the actual jet size is and then I can run a micro-drill in to clean it out. Based on my experience, I'm guessing I could use a .020 to start and the engine would likely be OK but that's a guess. I'm thinking it's bigger than that.

I've looked all over the net but can't find that piece of data. Maybe one of you know or have this common carb or equivalent on the shelf and could give me an idea how big it is.

Thanks in advance for your consideration. Any help appreciated. Thanks!

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
I’ve been doing this for over 50 years and this would be the first time I’ve heard that the pickup oriface being plugged. Never seen spec on this. Are you sure that is the problem? Most common problem with those carbs is that the pump diaphragm is old and not pumping properly to draw fuel from the tank to the auxiliary tank. Have you checked that the auxiliary tank is full of fuel? Have you replaced the diaphragm? I would start here before drilling.

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Threads
First it appears someone has changed the carb as the IPLs has it using a regular adjustment needle but that was the original carb too. But those fix idle mixture jets are somewhere between a #80 and a #75 drill bit; closer to the #75. Possible #76 but I don't have that one here yet.

1720117483279.png

Telesis

Threads
Thanks guys. Yes Rivets I'm positive it's plugged. I have it in my hand and it's real easy to blow on the pickup and no joy. (I agree 90% of the time it's a bad diaphragm and/or a dirty/plugged tank pickup screen. Otherwise they are pretty bulletproof. The diaphragm in this carb was toast and clearly it's been sitting a long time)