Export thread

mower blade shaft re-thread.....help

C

cadman33619

somehow i managed to ruin the threads in the blade shaft of my walk behind mower (7/8" shaft). The blade comes loose by itself. it looks like i need to re-thread the shaft somehow with a larger bolt size. i've never done this before but i'm pretty sure i can handle it. just need some direction...or maybe a how-to.

any help is greatly appreciated

reynoldston

reynoldston

Buy a helicoil kit from a auto parts store. Everything you will need will come in the kit but the power drill driver.

C

cadman33619

yes...i was just researching and helicoil came up as an option. but i'm a little concerned about it....is that better than using a tap & die set? i'm looking at videos that show how to use a tap to rethread a hole. some show that you have to drill out the hole first, then use the tap and some just show using the tap. Would this be better than the helicoil?

M

motoman

cadman, May be a risky way to learn basic machine skill. Try a local machine shop if the mower is worth ?$50.

reynoldston

reynoldston

The only thing with going the next bigger bolt is you are going to have to make your blade hole bigger. I personally never had a problem with a helicoil coming out. I would prefer to keep the same bolt to hold the blade on. Just follow the directions on the kit and you won't have problems.

C

cadman33619

i was able to 'repair' the threads of the shaft using a 3/8-24 tap. picked up a set from harbor freight. I also repaired the bolt with a die from the same set...worked out pretty good. working great so far.

Thanks for all your help.

Nwatson99

Nwatson99

Helicoil is a repair for a bolt that will not be removed and reinstalled hardly at all.
Your application does not apply for that since you will need to remove your blade to replace it, sharpen, and clean your deck.
Need to go up a size on the tap.

B

Blaine B.