Export thread

Liquid dynomite.

dfbroxy

dfbroxy

Liquid dynomite is my new name for starter fluid or brake cleaner spray. Im a backyard mower mechanic and work on friends and family+ riding mowers. I do this for a profit but less than repair shop cost. This year so far I have replaced double head gaskets on 6 mowers already. Each time I tell them and everyone I know not to spray liquid dynomite into carbs to start but noone pays any attention untill it happens to them. A little gas in carb works just as well and wont blow a gasket. If this doesnt work then something is wrong anyway. Soo thats my little rant for today. Hope there is at least one person out there that this helps.

H

hlw49

I bought a mower from a guy that told me it got water in it and froze and busted the head on it. The head was cracked you could see it. I took the head off and the cylinder and head was clean no rust from water getting in and freezing and busting the head. The next time I saw him I ask him how much starting fluid he sprayed in the engine he said I didn't spray much in it. Not much just enough to bust the head. That is why I tell people to never ever spray starting fluid in a small engine. I use gum out carb cleaner. Works and will not blow the head off the mower.

B

bertsmobile1

IF you could trust people then propane gas is the best thing to use to start a petrol engine
But considering what comes through the front gate I would be lothed to suggest it.
At the BSA factory new engines were "hot run tested " and this consisted of putting am air propane hose over the carb bell mouth and firing up the dry engine for a few seconds
Stats OK to fit in frame , did not start then off to mechanical rectification

StarTech

StarTech

I hate to say this but homeowners are drowning when it comes to their knowledge of small engines or the fact any engine.

1656506016724.png

Hammermechanicman

Hammermechanicman