Grasshopper 227 skipping like crazy

grasshopper227

Forum Newbie
Threads
I bought a 2007 grasshopper 227 midmount mower new and it has performed flawless until just recently. I have some mechanical experience so I do where the motor is located and all...lol but I am a little confused about my problem. I can get on the mower to cut my 4.5 acres of grass and sometimes it fires up and runs just great for an hour or 2 and I can cut it off for a few minutes and get back on it and it will be skipping so bad it will hardly move froward and I can smell gas like it is flooding..it may run like that for 5 minutes or 30 minutes and clear right up and throw me back in the seat as it returns to full power. i also can start it up for the 1st time and it will crank up skipping and once again it may run like that for 1 minute and clear right up or it could run like that for 30 minutes. sorry for such a long post but trying to provide as much info as i can. i have gotten the tank empty and attempted to blow any possible trash out with an air hose, also i have replaced the fuel pump, spark plugs, air filters. i am not sure if this could be a trash issue with the carb, or a fire issue. the spark plugs are dry when i take them out as actually today it started up running like crap and after 20 minutes it was still running ragged, so I checked the plugs and they were dry and I actually put 1 of the old plugs in 1 side and started it up and it started and ran perfect for a hour until i stopped for the day. Not saying it had anything to do with it but any advice I could get on this issue would be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance

grasshopper227

Forum Newbie
Threads
Any ideas guys.....dam grass is growing like cRaZy

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Remove the kill wires from the coils.
Check that the fuel solenoid will shut off the engine then replace the blower housing ( Access covers ) then go mow
If the problem goes away then the wiring is at fault