Gears not engaging after replacing brake pad

MapleKing

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have a new to me Craftsman 917.254860 tractor. When I bought it there was no issue with the gears forward or backward but the brakes were totally soft and I nearly injured myself rolling back down a hill unable to stop. I ordered a new brake pad, removed the wheel and brake assembly. I replaced the pad and put everything back together. I made sure I adjusted the brake so that when depressed the arm was moving back and forth.

I started it up and put it in gear and it didn't move regardless of what gear I put it in. The tractor rolls back and forth without issue and I'm guessing it's not the brakes. I'm new to these kind of units so I have no clue why it would stop engaging after working on the brakes. Any thoughts on what the issue could be?

Dave

ILENGINE

Lawn Royalty
Threads
If you removed the wheel/tire assembly to get to the brake there is a 100% chance that you have lost the square drive key that connects the rim to the axle.

MapleKing

Forum Newbie
Threads
If you removed the wheel/tire assembly to get to the brake there is a 100% chance that you have lost the square drive key that connects the rim to the axle.
I removed the cap, ring and washer and slid the tire off. Like I said, I'm new to this.

Wouldn't the other tire turn though? I didn't remove it, just the one by the brake.

I'll take a look at a parts diagram and see if I can figure out what the "square drive key", where it's located and what the part number is so I can order a replacement.

Thanks for the follow-up...

Forest#2

Threads
You asked: Wouldn't the other tire turn though?
NO

Just pull the wheel back off and install the square key. It's probably laying on the floor or stuck to the bottom of your foot.
Also while you are doing things, remove the rims and clean and grease the axles stubs so as they won't rust into the rims.