FX730v engine struggling under moderate load

Derpop

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hey all! I've been fighting with this issue for a few months now and would love to get another opinion on what I can do as I'm at the end of my rope.

I have a Hustler X-One with a Kawasaki FX730v engine in it, and I'm having issues with the engine bogging down under moderate loads. With the throttle wide open, just driving forward at full speed bogs the engine down really bad, and cutting grass of any height is impossible between how bad the motor bogs down from driving, and how it bogs with the blades engaged.

What I have tried so far:
  1. Changed air filter (it was fairly dirty, but the change indicator on the mower wasn't indicating overly restricted airflow)
  2. Checked for adequate spark with plugs. One looked ok, one looked weak so I replaced both and they looked better.
  3. Checked compression. One cylinder measured 68psi, the other was around 90.
  4. Leak test. No appreciable leaking from either cylinder.
  5. Adjusted valves. One cylinder had a valve a little off, so I adjusted it to match the others.
  6. Tried to clean carb. Tried spraying carb cleaner in as directed on the can to avoid disassembling. Didn't help much if at all.
  7. Replaced the carb with a new one. Still doesn't seem to have power.
I've got limited time to work on this issue myself and I've exhausted all the obvious troubleshooting steps, and those suggested by the manual I've got. Am I missing something obvious here? Any help is appreciated!

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
THe usual reason for lack of testicles on a twin is one side dropping out
So the first thing to do is check the temperature of each exhaust pipe after about 2 minutes running
If one is noticably colder than the other then swap the magneto coils
If the problem moves to the other side then that coil is no more in the land of the living.
If the problem stays on the same time then look at valves and make sure both are moving properly.