Fuel leaking from B&S Carb

PMW555

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello, Noob here. I just found the forum. I have a Snapper P21500 mower with the 5.5 HP B&S engine, which I purchased in 1995 I think. I can no longer read the date on the sales slip, but that is about right. It has given me 26 years of great service - until just recently. A few weeks ago, I was mowing, it quit, would not restart. I took it to a local repair shop, where the tech took great interest in it, saying it was one of the best, and "they don't make them like this anymore." The tech went through it thoroughly. Among the things done was, "Briggs & Stratton 398188 Needle Seat Kit Carburetor."

When I picked up the mower, it started on the first pull. But on the way home I noticed a strong smell of gasoline in our SUV. I parked the mower in our drive under garage, but by the next day, the smell of gas was so strong that it was all over the house. I've taken it back twice for that problem, but it was not corrected.

Gas is leaking from the carb, as I can feel it by running my fingers under the carb, and the leak will eventually drain the tank. It also apparently floods the carb, as it will start on the first pull without the choke, and is difficult to restart when it's hot..

I feel the tech messed up the carb overhaul. Does this sound like something is simply out of adjustment, or should I buy a new carb? Can someone point me to the right carb? I'm confused about the various carb numbers out there. Sorry for the long first time post.

Scrubcadet10

Staff member
Threads
Check your oil level... be sure it doesn't smell like gasoline.

the new needle is not sealing properly and not stopping fuel flow into the carb when the bowl gets full.
post the model number of the engine, it should be stamped into the metal blower housing either above the muffler on the flap, or above the spark plug.

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads