ES-210 Blower Bog

Reinman

Threads
Have an Echo 210 blower that runs fine at idle (and for a long time), but as soon as throttle is applied, bogs and quits.

I’m just getting into small engine repair, have done a lot of reading - no experience, but this one has me stumped so far. Not good for my first project.

Here is what I’ve done:

- Did tune up - replaced spark plug, fuel lines, and new carb (C1U-K78) Single fuel setting - 2 turns out from closed.
- Checked tank pressure - still does with cap off tank. Also took fuel filter off and does better with it off. Not the filter since it’s brand new and I’ve tried multiple ones.
- Compression pressure is at 90psi after 5 pulls. No leaks - pressure maintains after 5min. I’ve done a lot of reading on what a good pressure is and it almost seems to be a religious argument ;-).
- Checked exhaust - screen looks good, no blocks.
- Gaskets around manifold and carb all look good.

This machine is just not getting enough fuel at WOT. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Rein

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
loosen or remove the muffler entirely.
The exhaust port can get blocked by carbon build up , particular problem with the if a little is good more is better types who run on high oil:fuel ratios.

Use your ears.
An engine that stalls out lean will sound different to an engine that stalls out rich and both sound different to an engine that chokes on it's own exhaust.

When you have a minute, get an old power head with adjustable jets and stall the engine rich a dozen or so times till you have the sound fixed in your head
Do the same lean
then block off an exhaust outlet and listen to what an engine that chokes on it's exhaust sounds like.
Worthwhile spending a whole day doing this because in the long run it will :-
save you hundreds of hours in the workshop
Allow you to tell a customer what is wrong when they book the job in
Allow you to give better estimates
reduce the amount of unnecessary parts replacements.

Reinman