Buying help for ZTR in the $3,000-$5,000 range

mts

Forum Newbie
Threads
I am a ZTR newbie and have lived the last 20 years or so in a house I could push mow. My new house has a 1.5 acre lot that is mostly flat, but has a lot of trees, etc to mow around. I want something that will move along pretty well that has a decent sized deck to keep the mowing time down as much as possible. As a result, I think a ZTR would work well for me. Admittedly, I know very little about them. I've gone to a couple local dealers to look at some and I am getting pretty consistently pushed to riders costing $5,500k or more from Scag, Exmark and Ferris. The dealer comments are basically that ZTR's under that cost point are not quality units and won't last. My understanding is those are both really good brands, but my question is to get a quality unit with say a 50" ish deck, that will go 7-10mph, and that will handle one 1.5 acre lot reliably for many years, do I really have to go to that price point? Just seems like those units would be total overkill for what I need?

My last experience with a rider was the Snapper my dad owned and that thing ran like a top for 20+ years. To hear these dealers talk any ZTR under $5k will break within a couple years if you even look at it funny (I'm only slightly exaggerating here).

I believe in buying quality and will pay more to get it, but before I drop that kind of $$ I wanted to get some opinions from people that aren't trying to sell me one. :)

Thanks in advance.

Paulz2821

Threads