Buying from a dealer.

rajon

Threads
I went to Home Depot to look at a mower. Not saying this is a bad thing or this is an insult of the gentleman working there. I looked at the mowers for a few minutes, they were up on a shelf out of reach, a sales associate came over, he knew about them pretty well. The basics anyway. Went over to the computer to look up the answers to some of my more in depth questions. He really didn't ask me much but then again he was covering a big section and there were a lot of people there. The prices were ok and I could have had them load the box right into my truck.

I then went to one of the local dealers. There are a couple closer to my house but I go to this one because I like it better. (It's all of 4 miles away). I walk in and start looking at the mowers. Someone comes over and introduces himself to me, my wife, acknowledges my son. (16 months old) To be fair I am an electrical engineer by education and career so I have a meticulous nature. This guy started the process by peppering me with questions! About my yard, how I mow, what I like about mowers, don't like, etc. Makes a suggestion, shows me a few more. In all spends nearly an hour with me. Never really pressuring me to buy. Meanwhile my wife and son are playing with the shop dog and getting animal crackers from the owner. At one point I say I need to talk it over with my wife and Dave says well you probably aren't going to buy a mower today but let me give you some ammo to use on your wife - I was just going to go ask her how much trouble I am going to be in if I go $22 over budget. haha

Here comes the big difference.

They give me an assembled mower. Not one off the floor but one they haven't started yet. They put all the fluids in so I can see and turn it over and run it. The go over the operation of the machine with me. They fill out the warranty card and submit it for me and they put a sticker on the machine that is a free pass to the front of the line.