Export thread

Turf Tiger with problems

B

Bleit

Hi I just purchased a Used Scag Turf Tiger. I bought it from a private seller. The seller advertised the machine as a 2009 with 400 hours total, but the original hour meter went bad and he just replaced it. It showed less than an hour on it. He told me the machine was not used commercially and that he maintained it better than Scag recommendations. The topside of the machine appeared to be in excellent condition and when I Tested it the mower seemed fine but I am not an expert on scag or on zero turns as this is my first zero turn. Problem number 1 after getting it home and putting it in the garage there was a strong smell of gasoline the next morning. I looked under the machine and I noticed an intermittent leak. I have not found the source yet. I can't tell if it's from the tank or the gas line. Hopefully I will find it today when I lift it. Problem number 2 is a leaking right wheel motor. I discovered that when I removed the Right Rear tire. The inside of the wheel, and wheel well was dirty and loaded with oil soaked grass clippings. With the wheel removed there is a slow drip of oil about a drop every few minutes. My guess is a seal is bad. The underside of the machine is very dirty compared to the top. My machine is an STT 61V-27CH with a serial number D7500681. The motor is a Kohler CH740S with a spec CH740-3114. Build date on motor 1-28-2008. Does anyone know how I can tell that this machine has way more hours on it than was advertised.
Thanks Ben

M

Mad Mackie

First off, buyer beware!
2nd, Scag hour meters have been problematic. On a Turf Tiger, the hour meter will clock time only when the PTO in in the on position, other Scag models differ.
Scag hour meters have an internal, non replaceable battery which keeps the LED screen live.
3rd, is there a towing hitch on the rear of the machine? Most ZTRs have a low limit for towing weight, excessive towing weight causes pump/wheel motor/hydraulic system problems.