Export thread

Toro Personal Pace Mower

P

PJL1969

I“ll begin by saying I am a novice and just looking for some guidance. I have a Toro Personal Pace mower, Model # 20018. It has an electric key start and the battery is charged. When turning the key the starter spins but as best as I can determine the sprocket at the top of the starter does not engage with the flywheel. Is there some type of an adjustment which can be made to have it engage with the flywheel or is it something more serious wrong with the starter. Appreciate any advice on what to check or look for.

R

Rivets

More than likely you are going to have to replace the starter bendix drive. We will need a couple of things from you to advise you how to proceed, as there were different starters used during the different years of production. Please supply us with the mowers serial number and the engine numbers.

P

PJL1969

More than likely you are going to have to replace the starter bendix drive. We will need a couple of things from you to advise you how to proceed, as there were different starters used during the different years of production. Please supply us with the mowers serial number and the engine numbers.
Thanks for your fast reply. I checked and the serial # is 220006368

R

Rivets

Need Tecumseh engine numbers, as that year three different starters are listed. Include the spec number please.

P

PJL1969

Need Tecumseh engine numbers, as that year three different starters are listed. Include the spec number please.
Ok, is that printed someplace on the engine where I can look? Don’t have the manual

R

Rivets

There is an ID tag on the metal shroud, under the plastic cover. No need to remove anything, just tip the mower slightly on its side and have a good flashlight.

P

PJL1969

Apologies if I am misunderstanding you, is below what you are looking for

Attachments

R

Rivets

No, you need to look for the ID tag on the engine, not deck.

P

PJL1969