Should I buy "consumer" or "commercial?" And what format?

zadok

Threads
  • / Should I buy "consumer" or "commercial?" And what format?
Since I'm still a bit of a newbie, let me share my question, then I want to share a bit of my background...

Question:

We are moving to a new home, about 1 acre, with some at least 25 deg hills. I was hoping to get a zero turn sit down mower, but may not be the best idea with the hills.

I'm thinking of a walk-behind. And here is my question:

1) Should I buy something like a CC-800 for like $1,200 (from a dealer, not big box) <or> a low-end commercial walk behind, with hydros, and where I could add a sulky? I could opt for a cheaper gear drive commercial walk-behind, but not sure of any value for my resell scheme (#3).
2) My thinking: The CC-800, sorry to insult, fits into the "throw-away" category IMO. This is just my opinion and you'll see why I think that way.
3) If I buy a commercial machine, my plan might be to keep it for 10 years, put 300 hours on it, then sell it.

So it's the $1,200, gear drive, deal, or the $3K+ rig? What I don't know is if the walk behind will have any equity in say 10 years.

History:

I'm old enough to remember the days when Cub Cadet machines were built with American made Kholer engines and were built like a tank. I'm also familiar with some other brands of that vitage, like Gravely. Now, a nice Gravely in the '80s cost $10k I think.Big bucks for a homeowner who only wanted to mow, or maybe mow and blow snow.