SCAG Tiger Cub will not engage transmission

RogerWilkins

Forum Newbie
Threads
I am a newbie to Zero turn mowers. I have both a very old Yazoo that continues to perform and a SCAG Tiger Cub at my home in Rural Arkansas. The SCAG is always the preferred mover. This last 4th of July weekend we were at our Arkansas home and moved about 4 acres with the SCAG which performed very well. My son who was moving went to mow a small ditch when the transmission stopped.
This is after mowing about 4 acres with no issues. When we got it back to the garage, the hydraulic fluid was extremely low which according to the manual should be about 3 inches from the top. It is at least 6 inches down, maybe more. There is a metal tube insert in the hydraulic tank that has a hole in in about half way up. The fluid in the tank is not up to the hole. Part of my family had to go back to Texas and I had to go back to Tennessee. BTW, the mower starts readily and the PTO works fine as well. The transmission will not engage. Is there a good chance that the mover is simply too low on hydraulic fluid (20W-50) according to the manual? When we fill up the resevoir is there something else we should do? If this does not do the trick, I need to transport it back to Texas to the dealer.
BTW - There was a little left to go on the yard when this happened. We aired up the tires in the Yazoo and it finished the remainder like a champ. Thanks for any answers or help!

ILENGINE

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Check the drive belt for the hydro drive units. Could of came off due to stick or something else. Or the belt broke.

RogerWilkins

Forum Newbie
Threads
Thanks for the reply. All of the belts seem to be intact. I am hoping that it is the very low hydraulic fluid level.

Mad Mackie

Lawn Addict
Threads